Just Another GMAT Story

Although this may be just another GMAT blog, but I think it will be interesting to document my GMAT story….let’s see how challenging it’s really going to be…Here, I will be sharing my 30 days countdown….

30 days to go……

I have been thinking of GMAT for a long time. I am planning to apply to a few courses in India using GMAT score instead of a CAT score. Obvious reason for this selection is that I find myself with a lower probability of making the cut at CAT. Also, there are some programs which takes only a GMAT score, so I have no option but to go for it.

As usual of me, it always takes last date or final deadline of everything to get me moving. I am not confident enough to wake up one fine morning and decide that I am going to write GMAT next Monday. I need some preparation, so I did turned the calendar and selected the most celebrated date of the next month as my GMAT date…with scheduling done I have around four weeks to tame the devil(All I need is a good GMAT score). Yeah, I will be writing GMAT in first week of September, which means my late decision comes with a risk….I‘ll miss the first round application deadline of one of the schools on my list.

I have a decent GRE score and it gives me some confidence, although I know GMAT is not GRE…things are different here. Moreover, any score to be called decent by Indian standard need lots more perspiration compared to a decent GRE score.

Sentence Correction Questions

Having tried a few questions from the Official Guide, I know my weak areas and where I need to improve on. Out of array of question types Sentence Correction, hereafter to be referred as SC (do not confuse with Schedules Castes) is one I find most tedious. It is not because it’s been longtime, I left academics and those grammar books, but I never cared for my sentences to be grammatically correct as long as it conveyed the proper sense and right message to the one it has been intended for. I believe I considered grammar as most discounted element in my English usage. I find most of the people who constitute the others for me are as grammatically challenged as me.

Have you been writing lately? If you do, sometimes while reviewing what you have written, you may feel that the whole idea which you wanted to convey has gone missing out of the texts and what remains is a confused congregation of words which convey some weird sense. Other times, you may ask yourself, am I the one who wrote it? You may not be able to recognize your own words, let alone the errors in sentence correction questions if you do not know and use right grammar rules…… so, how do we use grammar rules? Before we comply with grammar rules of written English we need to know what the rules are…. After attempting few questions from OG and reviewing the pitfalls, here are some of the things which I consider one needs to keep in mind while attempting sentence correction question in GMAT:

  •      What looks obviously correct is not always correct. Even a completely absurd answer option can sound very correct. Check whether sentence as a whole and in parts agree to the rules standard written English grammar.
  •      Reading entire sentences instead of only underlined part, gets you better chances of catching the error right. Read all the options even if you have found the error and a correct option.
  • ¨      One should be able to identify the incorrect options and omit them. Correct omission leaves you with a fewer options to choose from.
  •      Check whether the sentence clearly presents what the author meant to say. The correct option will give a transparent and unambiguous meaning.
  •       The sentences should be concise i.e. if you are left with two or more options which are grammatically correct and also presents a clear meaning, then choose one which is concise and avoids wordiness. Ensure that the concision doesn’t alter the meaning of the sentence.
  •        Never use your time to frame a correct option, choose the one from the provided option which you consider the best with reference to grammar, meaning and concision.

The best way to go through it is to get a clear understanding of the rules first. One needs to understand where their usage is included and where they are excluded, how one rule is linked to the other rules, how two or more grammar rules, meaning flaws and wordiness combine together to form a single complex question of sentence correction in actual GMAT.

About Barun Jha

Infrastructure Professional, Introvert,Writer, Wonderer, Wanderer
This entry was posted in Barun Jha, Blogs, GMAT, GRE, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

