Some more on Blogging, Writing & Beyond

I posted Notes to Self: On Blogging, Writing & Beyond, it was appreciated. Then I posted More on Blogging, Writing & Beyond, if it was not criticized, it attracted ire of people who didn’t agree with the content. Anyway, it was welcome to me. At the end, a good content is what gets noticed.  The point you are presenting should tear your reader’s opinions into two halves, some will like it and some won’t. A good writing is like a Himesh Reshamiya song, either you like it or you hate it, but you can’t ignore it like the writing of Chetan Bhagat which I wish to cover in a different post.

Writing

Image via Wikipedia

There is nothing called a perfect novel or ideal novel. There is no rule or a defined framework for writing. Although you will find plenty of tips and literature discussing how to write and what to write, they will come of little use when you begin writing. Somerset Maugham once said “There are three rules for writing a novel. Unfortunately, no one knows what they are.” It someone professes a certain way of writing, mind you, it is the way or things they find themselves comfortable with. Part of it or in its entirety, it may or may not work for you. There doesn’t exists a template to mould on a book or a novel neither exists a manual. Obviously, the best practices should not be called so, if it can’t move the flow of your word in your desired form.

Once you dig deep into the prints, you will realize that even writers famous today wrote mediocre stuffs. It was their consistency, perseverance that refined their writing to the level they are famous for today. It brought shine and glitter to their works and fetched them recognition and success.

You can’t write a novel overnight, until you are racing to write a crap and unless you are a genius. So it is better to restrain such impulses.  No, it can’t be produced over a month either. Although there are things like NaNoWriMo where they aspire to finish works in a month, but it requires a lot of planning. If you are consistent with writing, one thing is sure you will churn out thousands of words, which may be incoherent but it will surely give you confidence on you your abilities to sit and write.

So write at your own pace, even if it is at 2000 words in a day or if it is a 1000 words in a week or a month. Many successful and novels took years to write, so do not hurry.

But Write Write and Write…

**

9650+ words so far in 2012 on Barunjha’s Blog

© Barun Jha || 2012

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Barun Jha

Infrastructure Professional, Introvert,Writer, Wonderer, Wanderer
This entry was posted in Barun Jha, Blogs, Random, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Some more on Blogging, Writing & Beyond

  1. I agree most of the great work sound mediocre. It is the consistency with helps writers to evolve. Also, I feel famous writers are able to connect with their readers. That’s precisely the reason Chetan Bhagat is famous. When you read ‘Five Point Someone’ or any of his novel, the youth feel connected with the thought process of the author and the language.

    Writing a novel in a month. As I told you earlier I can’t write anything beyond 100 words, so for me it’s ‘Mission Impossible’…

    For writing I recently wrote this –
    “I write…I will continue to…
    Everyday shaping my endeavour.
    With my words I’m immortal,
    In them…I will live forever and ever…”

    I hope you agree with me as a writer…

  2. Barun Jha says:

    I agree… what one writes and how much one writes varies… sometimes i find it hard to write even 100 words…
    “With my words I’m immortal,
    In them…I will live forever and ever…” lines I will remember. 😀

    yes, if it is not the quality of writing, repeated commercial success depends upon how much your readers are able to connect with your content as is the case with Chetan Bhagat.
    Thank You for commenting… 😉

  3. della says:

    This post is quite interesting. It spoke to me. Blogging everyday is my new found hobby and i find it hard sometimes even though i enjoyed writing.

    “If you are consistent with writing, one thing is sure you will churn out thousands of words, which may be incoherent but it will surely give you confidence on you your abilities to sit and write.”
    I’m gonna take those advice and perhaps write a novel someday 🙂

  4. Barun Jha says:

    Thank You for commenting…
    I see it pretty common among writers and bloggers… so persist.. consist and more importantly write… 😀
    Liked chapters on your blog…good work

  5. Pingback: More Notes on Blogging, Writing & Beyond | Barunjha's Blog

Leave a Reply

